my tomato & corn salad

Media_http4bpblogspot_fbejm

This recipe is based on a Spanish side dish called pico de gallo (rooster’s beak) which is usually made up of chopped tomatoes, onions, chilis, lime juice & cilantro & other things such as avocados, cucumber & radish. The original recipe is a Simply Recipes post for “Fresh Tomato Salsa

Mix in a bowl:
2-3 medium-sized fresh tomatoes, diced
1 red onion, finely diced
2-4 chili pepper (stems, ribs, seeds removed), finely diced–I use bottled or canned pickled hot peppers & I leave some of the seeds in
Juice of 1 lime
1/2 cup chopped cilantro, chopped as finely as you can
a dash of apple cider vinegar
a box of frozen corn–I nuke the corn in the microwave first for about 3-4 minutes
Salt & pepper, to your taste–I use almost a tablespoon of salt. I like salt!

Refrigerate. Best served cold with roasted chicken, grilled meats.

I also like to eat it by itself.

Leave a Reply

